Book Review: The Heartbreaker by Ali Novak

25266817Title: The Heartbreaker

Author: Ali Novak

Gernes: Young Adult

GoodReads × Amazon

Trigger Warning: Swearing, Spoiler etc.


Synopsis: “When I met Oliver Perry, I had no clue he was the lead singer for The Heartbreakers. And he had no idea that I was the only girl in the world who hated his music.”

Stella will do anything for her sick sister, Cara—even stand in line for an autographed Heartbreakers CD…for four hours. She’s totally winning best birthday gift this year. At least she met a cute boy with soft brown hair and gorgeous blue eyes while getting her caffeine fix. Too bad she’ll never see him again.

Except, Stella’s life has suddenly turned into a cheesy love song. Because Starbucks Boy is Oliver Perry – lead singer for the Heartbreakers. And even after she calls his music crap, Oliver still gives Stella his phone number. And whispers quotes from her favorite Disney movie in her ear. OMG, what is her life?

But how can Stella even think about being with Oliver — dating and laughing and pulling pranks with the band — when her sister could be dying of cancer?


*I given an eARC via NetGalley in exchange an honest review*

I am writing this right after I finished reading this book and I finished it in less than a day. How you ever read a book is so shitty and when you finish the book you want to murder someone? Well “The Heartbreaker” is the one. I have read one of Novak’s book “My Life with the Walter Boys” back in late 2014 than I sort of give up on reading it cause the name is too confussing and also I read it on Wattpad.

When I saw “The Heartbreaker” on Netgalley, I thought this would be a lovey dovey read, this book is a lovey dovey read. It just feel like a One Direction or 5 Seconds of Summer fan-fiction and I have read enough fan-fiction to say this book is/was a One Direction fan-fiction with different name. And I swear I have read a fan fic that girl’s name is Stella somewhere. First our main characters Stella met Oliver in a Starbucks and he happened to be in the world biggest boy band, and “The Heartbreaker” is Stella’s sister Cara favorite band and our Stella hate “The Heartbreaker” (What?!) There are no such thing as meeting the world biggest boy band lead singer in a Starbucks. And this plot sound so similar, anyone watched the movie StarStrucks before? The movie follow Sarah who hate Christopher who is the world-famous pop star and actor but Sarah’s sister obsessed Christopher. Sarah and Christopher met at club well something like that. (I will continue the plot of StarStruck as we continue the review) Wait, is this the same fucking plot for “The Heartbreaker”?

The book continue as Stella and Drew went the signing, and Stella realize that the boy in Starbucks is world-famous pop star, how could Stella not know it was Oliver Perry back in Starbucks if her sister have poster of The Heartbreaker everywhere? And Stella and Drew happen to be in the same fucking hotel with The Heartbreaker? Stella and Drew spent some time with the band and suddenly she don’t hate The Heartbreaker that much?! Stella have a passion on photography, she took some photo of the band and the next time she know she was hired to be a photographer of the band! She spent times with the boys and well Stella and Oliver fall in love… This is a fan-fiction and the writing feel like a 12 years old writing about her favorite band. The story of The Heartbreaker feel like the story of 5 Seconds of Summer; JJ, Oliver, Xander were friend in school and they form a band call Infinity and Beyond, Alec found them on YouTube, Alec e-mail them saying he love their music and Alec join the band, Alec’s father who own a record label sign them and that is the story of The Heartbreaker, now here is the story of 5 Seconds of Summer (well I’m not a huge fan of them so correct me if I’m wrong) Luke, Calum and Micheal are friend at school and they form a band and start posting video on YouTube, and somehow through internet Aston join the band as a drummer.

The ending, well toward the ending there are a concert for cancer and Oliver wrote a song for Stella and he perform it in front of the coward and at that very moment I want to throw my fucking phone out the window (well of course I can’t do that I love my phone) That is the exact same ending of StarStruck, Christopher sang a song for Sarah, they kissed and happily ever after.

Finally StarStruck + Shitty One Direction Fan Fic + 5 Seconds of Summer Backstory = “The Heartbreaker”

Rating: ♦ 

Leave a Reply

